Fitness

The things that go through my head during a kettlebells class

I do a kettlebells class every Friday. I love it, it’s probably my favourite fitness class. The beauty of kettlebells is that it hits everything; it’s cardio and strength training that targets every single muscle group, all rolled up into a heavy cast-iron ball. If you’re looking for a great total body workout, this is it.

Some time ago, I wrote a blog post about what goes through my head when I am running. After tonight’s kettlebell class I decided to do a post about what ran through my mind during that (and pretty much every) kettlebell class. So here we go…

  1. 4kg bell – pfft that’s easy. I reckon I could up my weight.
  2. Swinging – ooo I could do some damage with this bell if I let go of it right now.
  3. DON’T LET GO OF THE BELL!
  4. Now we’re squatting – don’t trump, don’t trump, don’t trump.
  5. I hope the person behind me doesn’t notice that I’m clenching…
  6. …of course they won’t notice, they’re not looking at your bum.
  7. Waaa! Someone dropped their kettlebell *feels smug that I have not dropped my kettlebell*.
  8. Balls, I dropped my kettlebell.
  9. Jeeeez, my hands are sweating.
  10. ‘Pirate Ships’*, she knows I loathe these, she’s doing it on purpose!
  11. I think I will stick with my 4kg after all.
  12. Oh more squatting – good, good.
  13. Must remember to sit right into the squat and push down towards my heels.
  14. I hope my leggings don’t go see-through as I squat.
  15. Hopefully if they have gone see-through I was sensible enough to remember it was ‘gym day’ and wear black knickers…
  16. Oh thank God, we’re getting the mats out.
  17. Wait, that means it’s time for abs.
  18. Abs with a kettlebell thrown into the mix.
  19. Ooooooouch. My tummy wants to die right now.
  20. Planks?! She’s kidding, right?!
  21. Nope, she’s not.
  22. Oh yay, cool down time.
  23. I’m well tough. Just call me Ironwoman; behold my guns of steel.
  24. Waaaa! I can’t lift my gym bag! My arm muscles are broken!
  25. I want a McDonald’s for dinner.

And there you have it. My general thought process when doing kettlebells – glorious isn’t it?

Do you do kettlebells? What generally goes through your head? Please don’t tell me I am on my own with half of this?!

11018176_10155468058305401_7867911153287315651_n

*Pirate Ships: A delightful kettlebell exercise in which you begin with the bell hanging at waist-level and start swaying it from side-to-side, like a pendulum. Gradually you gain momentum, and turn from the waist with each swing, raising the kettlebell to head height, briefly pausing with the bell aloft. After several reps, it hurts, I tell you!

Leave a comment